Shiva, Shakti, Shatkona

If one googles for images of the star of David associated with the sexual union of male and female aspects of deity, almost nothing at all explicit comes up. It is as if this ancient connection is simply unheard of or unknown to Jewish or Hebrew culture.

However, in occult practices and in the Hindu ancient traditions, this connection is well known. The star or hexagram is called “Shatkona” in Sanskrit and the two deities embracing in the symbol are Shiva and Shakti.

The Shatkona is the combination of the Shiva kona (trikona, triangle), the symbol of the God Shiva, representing the element of fire, and the Shakti kona, representing the element of water. Together, they represent the union of male and female, and the heart chakra.


The most ancient sacred texts of the Hindu faith, the Vedas, date back more than three millennia and the hexagram is mentioned there.

“The center of the divine lotus is the core — Krsna’s residence. It is presided over by the Predominated and Predominating Moiety. It is mapped as a hexagonal mystic symbol [sat-konam].”

source: Swami B. G. Narasingha: Star of David or Star of Goloka?

The more specific sexual symbolism of the two triangles is recognised in Hindu culture:

In Hinduism, the Hexagram is more commonly known as Shatkon or Satkona (Shat = six, Kona = corner/angle). It is the union of Shiva (Male) and Shakti (Female). Here, Shiva, or the Purusha is represented by symbol “ᐱ”, which is a symbolic representation of male organ. Shakti, or Prakriti is represented by symbol “ᐯ”, which denotes the female womb. They are both combined to form “✡”. This is called Shanmukha, which represents “Origin”, or the formation of life. Shanmukha literally means Six faced.

source: The Hindu Theory

The hexagram is widely used as a part of or at the centre of yantras.

A YANTRA is a geometric design acting as a highly efficient tool for contemplation, concentration and meditation. YANTRAS carry spiritual significance : there is a specific meaning that pertains to higher levels of consciousness.

A typical combination often found in the graphical structure of a YANTRA is the superposition of two triangles, one pointing upwards and the other downwards, forming a star with six points (SHATKONA), also known as David’s Star. This form symbolically represents the union of PURUSHA and PRAKRITI or SHIVA-SHAKTI, without which there could be no Creation.

source: Yantras

In some of the temples of India, the walls are adorned with statues of Shiva and Shakti in their divine union. One of these statues has been chosen to create a somewhat sexually explicit image for a magen, though it is not so explicit as to fall wholly within the category of Erotica.



Magen Passion Postcard 8: Shiva and Shakti

Magen Passion – home page